The Federal Government, through the Ministry of Solid Minerals Development, has taken action to revoke 1,633 mining licenses previously issued to non-compliant mining companies.

Dele Alake, the Minister of Solid Minerals Development, made the announcement on Tuesday, November 21, in Abuja. He highlighted that these mineral title holders had their licenses revoked due to their failure to fulfill the mandatory annual service fees, which amounted to N1,500 per cadastral unit.

Alake specified that the Mining Cadastre Office recommended the revocation of various types of titles: Exploration License (536), Quarry License (279), Small Scale Mining License (787), and Mining Lease (31). Utilizing the powers conferred by the NMMA 2007, Section 5 (a), the Minister approved the revocation of these 1,633 titles.