The Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of AbdulHakeem Mobolaji and six others as members of governing board of the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC).

This followed the adoption of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions report at the plenary on Tuesday.

Those confirmed included Osita Ogbu (South-East), Umar Gambo Jibrin (North-Central), Mohammed Haruna (North-East) Yasmine Dalhatu (South-West).

Others were Simon Ogie (South-South) and Abimbola Olashore (South-West).

Six bills also scaled the first reading at the plenary: Haliru Dantoro University of Fisheries and Aquaculture, New Bussa, Niger Bill, the traditional, complementary alternative medicine council establishment bill, the Institute of cooperative professionals of Nigeria establishment bill.

Others were the African Union of Development Agency-New Partnership for African Development Bill, the African Union Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons Domestication and Enforcement Bill and the Institute of Chartered Islamic Finance Professionals Establishment Bill.