By G9ija

Eight Ward Chairmen of the All Progressives Congress in Delta State have resigned from the party.

They have declared support for the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party in the forthcoming general elections.

The Ward Chairmen, who were received to the PDP family by the governorship candidate of the PDP in Delta State, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori. said they were leaving the APC in their various wards with other supporters to the PDP for the growth and development of the state.

Also received into the PDP fold by Rt. Hon. Oborevwori, who is the Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, were the All Progressives Grand Alliance candidates of the State Assembly, Burutu North and House of Representatives, Burutu Federal Constituency in the general election.

The Ward Chairmen that resigned from the APC to the PDP were Sunday T. Oyabrade, Burutu Ward 7; Egbe Angome, Bomadi Ward 9; Volvo Oyayefa, Akugbene-Bomadi Ward 8; Aya-Angor Akpors, Burutu Ward 6; Ofene Emejor, Warri South Ward 3; Bini Maxwell, Burutu Ward 7; Festus Godspower, Bomadi Ward 7; Justin Ogbomeniegha, Bomadi Ward 4; and Timbo Zudegibe, Bomadi Ward 5.

Affirming the good work of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa and the need for sustained growth and development of Delta State, the former APC ward leaders said it is their desire to deliver PDP 5 over 5 in the forthcoming general elections.

Those who spoke pledged their total commitment to the PDP, saying that the APC has nothing to offer in Delta State.

They promised to mobilise support to ensure the actualisation of Atiku-Okowa presidency, Sheriff-Onyeme governorship and other PDP candidates in the elections.

For their part, the State House of Assembly APGA candidates for Burutu North, Demebide Pele, and House of Representatives for Burutu Federal Constituency, Hon. Bibakefie Ebi, paid glowing tributes to the PDP-led administration in Delta State, saying Oborevwori succeeding Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa would further promote good governance in the state.

They urged Deltans, particularly the Ijaw nation, to disregard the empty promises of the APC as those at the forefront of the party in Delta State, including the governorship candidate, Ovie-Omo-Agege, and the Director General of the campaign organisation, Godsday Orubebe, had been involved in acts capable of truncating the nation’s democracy.

The APGA candidates said they would work for the victory of the PDP presidential, senatorial and governorship candidates in the forthcoming elections.

Receiving the decampees, Oborevwori commended the bold steps taken by the eight APC ward chairmen by resigning from the APC to join the PDP for the interest of Delta State.

Oborevwori said PDP is a party that believes in the development of the nation, hence the rescue mission to save Nigeria from further collapse in the hand of the APC.

He urged them to ensure they deliver all PDP candidates in the forthcoming elections from the presidency to state Assembly.

On hand to join the Speaker to receive the eight APC ward chairmen were some members of the State Legislature, members of the State Executive Council and other top officials of the state government.

In a related development, Hon. Efezhino Ilaye Thukson, from Ofagbe Ward, Isoko North Local Government and Action Democratic Party Isoko Federal Constituency candidate, has dumped his party and joined the PDP, with a promise to work for the victory of Oborevwori and other candidates of the party

Oborevwori hailed him for taking the bold steps in jumping ship to join the PDP and assured him of inclusiveness in the party.