By G9ija

The Institute of Corporate And Public Sector Professionals and the Nigeria Union of Journalists on Tuesday signed a Memorandum of Understanding for the continuous training of journalists across the country.

The institute also conferred awards on NUJ National President, Christopher Isiguzo, and Trustee, Abimbola Oyetunde.

The Honorary awards were for their contributions to nation building.

In her address, Folasade Airebamen, President, ICPSP, said that the MoU reflects a shared value and focuses on seeking collaborative opportunities within each organisation’s respective vision, mission and programme focus, thus, establishing capacity building opportunities.

According to Airebamen, the role of journalists in nation building cannot be overemphasised and as such the decision to enter into the agreement with the NUJ is on course and a right step in the right direction.

She explained that following the signing of the MoU, NUJ members could benefit from both the local and international trainings offered by the institute at subsidised rates.

“The institute, while endeavouring to fulfil its part of the agreement, expects that NUJ does same to fully implement the agreement and sustain the mutually benefitted relationship established,” she said.

The ICPSP’s president congratulated Isiguzo and Oyetunde for their conferment as honorary fellow member of the institute.

Airebamen saids: “We expect you, as a honorary fellow, to uphold and guide the objectives and principles of the institute jealously, to enable us materialise our mission and vision statements sooner than expected.

“We look forward to you bringing in your wealth of experience to promote the institute and be opened for mentorship.

“This is because at ICPSP, we recognise that we can be a powerful driver of change and as such our members are experts who are passionate about nation building and capacity.”

According to her, ICPSP’s mandate is to support professionals whose daily effort impacts people’s lives and the society to bring out the best in them.

In his address, the NUJ President lauded the institute for being consistent and exceptional in delivering its mandate for continuous development of corporate and public sector professionals.

Isiguzo said that the union believes it was needful to sign the MoU with the institute since journalists are also professionals.

He explained that the aim was to leverage the institute’s platform to help its members benefit from several trainings and retraining programmes offered.

He said: “There is always a need for professionals to learn, re-learn and un-learn and as a union, we will ensure that our members take advantage of the opportunity offered by the institute.

“This is to ensure that our members who are involved in information dissemination are properly equipped and have the necessary information know-how and professional capacity.

“So many of our members have already started benefitting from the opportunity and we are so glad that the institute did not hesitate to enrol us in this MoU.”

According to Isiguzo, the NUJ is hopeful that with an established relationship between the union and the institute, it will make it a lot easier for journalists to take advantage of the opportunity.

The NUJ president noted that following the MoU, members of NUJ would also be enrolled into the institute at a discounted rate.

Isiguzo said that the opportunity is opened for all members of the union across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

He also promised as a honorary fellow of the institute to uphold, protect and defend the objective and principle behind the establishment of the ICPSP.

“We assure the institute of our readiness to work with them and do all that is needful to ensure that as honorary members, our members also take part in the activities of the institute,” the NUJ president said.

Present at the event were the Vice President, NUJ National, Malam Shehu Idris; immediate Past President, Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, Ifeayinwa Omowole; Leye Ajayi, Chairman, NUJ Lagos State Council; and Adeola Ekine, Chairman, NAWOJ, Lagos State Chapter.

Also present were Tunde Olalere, Secretary, NUJ, Lagos Council; Omolara Adelakun, Registrar, ICPSP; and Prof. Kadijat Idowu, Chairman, Honorary Fellowship Award Committee/Head, Research Department, ICPSP.