By G9ija

The Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 (PSC), has placed six states including Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on red alert as part of the preventive measures against a third wave of the pandemic

In a statement signed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation/Chairman Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, in Abuja, Sunday, the PSC expressed concern over the confirmation of the Delta Variant of COVID-19 and the rising number of infections and hospitalization in the country.

The PSC, however, warned all states of the federation to heighten their state of preparedness and continue to enforce all protocols put in place, given the renowned greater ease of spread of the Delta variant.

These steps, the PSC said, are critical as the country began to see worrisome early signs of increasing cases.
“The PSC shall continue to minimize the risk of importation of Variants of Concern into the country by strengthening Surveillance at all Points of Entry (POE), enforcing extant quarantine protocols and sustaining the current restrictive measures against travelers arriving from India, Brazil, Turkey and South Africa,” the statement noted.

While urging all state governments and religious leaders to be mindful of the potential for wider spread of the virus during large gatherings, the PSC, therefore, recommended the decentralization of Eid Prayer to neighborhood Friday Prayer Mosques (outdoor); suspension of Durbar activities; and observation of limitations on all Indoor gatherings.
The PSC, while felicitating with the Muslim Ummah on the occasion of the Eid-el-Kabir celebration, called on Nigerians and all residents to stay safe, always.