By G9ija

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) as well as service chiefs

This was sequel to the resignation of the CDS and the service chiefs and their retirement from service.

A statement issued on Tuesday by the President’s Media Adviser, Femi Adesina, said the

new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Buhari also accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those retired are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

The President thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calle their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.