By G9ija

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the incumbent governor of Taraba state and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Darius Ishaku, as the winner of the Taraba state governorship election.

INEC returning officer, Shehu Iya, made the announcement around 3.50am on Tuesday morning, March 12, at the INEC office in Jalingo, the state capital.

The official stated that Governor Ishiaku scored a total of 520, 433 votes to defeat his closest contender, Sani Danladi, from the All Progressives Congress (APC) who recorded 362, 735 votes across the 16 local government areas of the state.

INEC announced the Taraba governorship election after the electoral commission earlier postponed the announcement of the final result following reported delay of the result in some local government areas in the state.